Thankful

It seems each time I come back to this blog, so much life has happened. I want to make it a goal to write more frequently and consistently so for you who read this regularly, please hold me to it :)

I want to dedicate a post to consider what the Lord has done in my life over the past month or so–for all the ways He has been faithful to provide and ultimately, for who He is. It’s helpful to stop and reflect on this each day, not to mention it was Thanksgiving this week.

If you are unaware, I moved to Austin, TX about a month ago for a job I took at a pro-life organization. I spent 4 months searching for a job that would be the right fit, and the Lord provided in an area where I have such a passion–fighting for the unborn. He has graciously provided a home to live in with a couple I knew from Denton until I find more permanent residence. They have been so gracious and kind to me during this transition and I am reminded of the gospel almost daily through this couple. I now live in the SAME city as my best friend (who moved shortly before me) for the first time in 4 years. We always joked that she would end up in Texas one day and here she is with her husband, living just minutes from me. I’m also thankful for parents who have supported my decision in the process of a big move back to Texas.

God has been so good to provide as I have begun transitioning. I think about it in light of Thanksgiving and I have to say I am overjoyed by the abundance of God’s grace. I am humbled by all the things and people that God has put in my life when I am far from deserving of them. Even more, I am stunned by the saving faith Jesus has granted me at the cross. Sometimes I don’t necessarily feel as if I am grateful for how God has given me the gift of salvation in Jesus, but that is why I call this truth to mind constantly and come back to the foundation of the Christian faith–which is that Christ came to save sinners and restore us to God. I am so prone to forgetting that I deserve the wrath of God and yet He has provided undeserved grace and eternal life through Jesus.

The other day as I drove early to work right after the sunrise, I thought about God’s love being as sure as the sun rise each day. In that moment I was overjoyed and humbled by the constant love found only in Christ. I was humbled because I often search for contentment and satisfaction in things outside of Christ, but I won’t find it there. Be encouraged in the stability of God’s faithfulness and sovereignty. He is sure and true and He has proven this in the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus. That is something to be thankful for.

For His glory,

Kenzie

Leave a Reply

