Chosen & Kept

If there is one promise that encourages me more than anything it is this–I am chosen and kept secure by God. My God has called me to himself and the same power that saved me and opened my eyes to see the beauty of Christ also sustains me and keeps me. I think this is the foundation of our faith that enables us to run freely and confident in this life. I don’t have to “figure life out” as our society and people around us often say. I get to rest in who I am in Christ. This promise has been more near to me the past few weeks than ever. When I am tempted to despair, I come back to this place. I am chosen. I am loved. I am kept.

It is not me who keeps my pursuit strong in Christ. It is God who sustains and grants me faith to believe in Christ. He is the faithful one. I am prone to wander, prone to give way to sin, yet as a child of God, I am kept secure and sustained by his power and grace. I can’t begin to say how comforting that is for me as I wrestle hard with sin patterns that seem to remain, or when I am tempted to believe that God doesn’t know what he is doing with my future after graduation. He does and he is faithful. I have to continually speak that truth to myself over and over and it just never seems to get old. The promise that He will keep me due to the fact that He has called me his own (these go hand in hand) allows me to fight for joy each day even when I feel like nothing in me wants to keep pressing in. By God’s grace am I even able to pick up my Bible some days because all I want to do is sleep or distract myself with other things. He grants faith and fights for me.

There are two verses that run through my head as I type this. One is Philippians 1:6 which says “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” (emphasis mine). The call of God on our lives (beginning the work of salvation in us) is the same power that brings our salvation to completion and sustains our lives. Why would God save his children and then leave them to their own? That would be foolish for him to do because it would neglect his character and diminish the purpose of the Cross. He not only saves us from something, but for freedom in Christ. And God knows I need his help in pursuing Christ. I cannot muster that strength up, God must grant it. And I will earnestly seek it and ask him for it. That isn’t to say we just sit back and wait for God to reveal more of himself. We are called to depend on his strength for it and admit when we don’t desire to. My prayer is often that I want to want to desire God and I ask him for it. The other verse is found in 1 Corinthians 1:8-9- “The Lord will sustain you to the end, guiltless in the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.”

The character God is to never leave or forsake you if you are his. He gives grace to the humble, yet opposes the proud (James 4:6). And a humble spirit is one who can depend on Christ with their lives. It is saying “I can’t but He can”. It is banking all of our identity in Christ’s identity. True freedom is found when we can freely say that we don’t keep ourselves going. It is when we acknowledge that the Source of our strength lies outside of ourselves, namely in God. The security you can find in God will never fail you. The security you find in people, in a job, in a plan, in a relationship, will often fail you. People are messy and we live in a fallen world, which gives me all the more confidence in a God who says he has kept me and will sustain me for the rest of my days.

I hope this encourages you guys. If you are a believer in Christ, know that his grace sustains you. If you are not a believer, please know that God desperately wants you to press into him and wants to rescue you from sin, which is only found in the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus on the cross. If you don’t believe in God or that Jesus can save you, I encourage you to just ask him to make himself known to you. Only he can (my words can’t) so I am pleading with you that you might come to know Christ as your Savior and this promise will be true for you in this life and in the life to come.

For His glory,

Kenzie

Leave a Reply

